NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 25

veronica_franco_e_le_cortigiane_veneziane

The Venus of Urbino 1538 Titian

When I find myself in bed
Wasting away the morning
One more week to push ahead
And keep my verse adorning

Wasting away the morning
I dream of April’s sweet end
And keep my verse adorning
Days start to overextend

I dream of April’s sweet end
When I find myself in bed
Days start to overextend
Waking each morning in dread

NaPoWriMo Prompt – Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that begins with a line from a another poem (not necessarily the first one), but then goes elsewhere with it. This will work best if you just start with a line of poetry you remember, but without looking up the whole original poem. (Or, find a poem that you haven’t read before and then use a line that interests you).  The idea is for the original to furnish a sort of backdrop for your work, but without influencing you so much that you feel stuck just rewriting the original!. For example, you could begin, “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day,” or “I have measured out my life with coffee spoons,” or “I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster,” or “they persevere in swimming where they like.” Really, any poem will do to provide your starter line – just so long as it gives you the scope to explore. Happy writing!

One more week to go and I’m losing steam. And yes, I’m composing in bed today. It’s not the first time I’ve worked from my comfy bed. 😉 Poet at work.

When I find myself in bed – a line from Veronica Franco. Poetry in translation.

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 25

  1. Wasting away the morning
    I dream of April’s sweet end
    And keep my verse adorning
    Days start to overextend

    LOL got that right (and nicely done) – sometimes I post an extra poem in April, often later in the month, and I usually regret it almost right away. Note to self – save the extra poem for that day when you’re just plain tired and wordless!

Leave a comment