NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 21

 

The Night Watchman

Stuck
At
My post
Standing watch
Bored out of my mind
As the clock strikes midnight, I doze
Off. How did I get gate duty on the night of the
Big ball? My friends teased me about missing all the festivities even though they are
Working, too. At least they have coffee to stay awake. Suddenly I’m roused by commotion and a coach zooms past with a girl hot on its heels.
Then I hear the order, “Close the gates!” Oh shit, too late; maybe I can slink off pretend
I was not in charge of the gate house. The prince runs up.
“Where is she?” I start to stammer
As another guard
Triumphant
Holds her
Glass
Shoe

NaPoWriMo Prompt – today I challenge you to write a poem in the voice of minor character from a fairy tale or myth. Instead of writing from the point of view of Cinderella, write from the point of view of the mouse who got turned into a coachman. Instead of writing from the point of view of Orpheus or Eurydice, write from the point of view of one of the shades in Hades who watched Eurydice leave and then come back. Happy writing!

I decided to do a Fibonacci as 21 is a Fibonacci number. Other than that I don’t think this poem needs any explaining. I was happy to find a Cinderella palace guard picture on another WordPress blog.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 21

Leave a Reply

