Crockpot Recipe

18033079_10155248650397421_4828239948977508910_n

Crockpot meal simmers
Delicious aroma builds
Stick a fork in me, I’m done
Chicken and dumplings
It’s what’s for dinner

NaPoWriMo Prompt Day 21 – Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that incorporates overheard speech. It could be something you’ve heard on the radio, or a phrase you remember from your childhood, even something you overheard a coworker say in the break room! Use the overheard speech as a springboard from which to launch your poem. Your poem could comment directly on the overheard phrase or simply use it as illustration or tone-setting material.

Welcome back to day 21 of NaPoWriMo. Okay so we can’t quite stick a fork into April. There is one more week until we’re done, but I love that line. Plus once the chicken was done cooking today, I had to pull it apart with a fork to serve. I enjoy cooking in the crockpot, it makes the house smell yummy all day. And any meal I don’t need to use a knife works for me, too.

Leave a Reply

