Housework, Job, and Write a Poem Bop

Alarm goes off five am each morning
it is a struggle to open my eyes
waking before the sun begins to rise
to start the day, I walk down hallway in
the dark because everyone else is still
asleep, open door to wake little girl

My list of never-ending chores is long

Then into kitchen to make her breakfast
at five-forty alarm two goes off and
older child gets up to take a shower
after eating, little girl starts to dress
meanwhile, it’s time for me to pack a lunch
by six am the last alarm goes off
everyone in the house is stirring
tea kettle on; coffee set to brew

My list of never-ending chores is long

The house begins to empty – one by one
occupants leave and I am left alone
to sit and enjoy my coffee before
floors are swept, dishes washed, laundry folded
and least I forget, poetry written
the time of year my sanity questioned

My list of never-ending chores is long

NaPoWriMo Prompt Day 11 – here’s our (optional) prompt for the day: the Bop. The invention of poet Afaa Michael Weaver, the Bop is a kind of combination sonnet + song. Like a Shakespearan sonnet, it introduces, discusses, and then solves (or fails to solve) a problem. Like a song, it relies on refrains and repetition. In the basic Bop poem, a six-line stanza introduces the problem, and is followed by a one-line refrain. The next, eight-line stanza discusses and develops the problem, and is again followed by the one-line refrain. Then, another six-line stanza resolves or concludes the problem, and is again followed by the refrain. Here’s an example of a Bop poem written by Weaver, and here’s another by the poet Ravi Shankar.

Welcome back to day 11 of NaPoWriMo and what a doozy we have today. You know, I usually check the prompt the night before, because midnight EST is 9PM for me. I read this one last night and thought. I hate long poem forms. Plus tomorrow I have to work and then when the little one (Gretchen) gets home, she has an orthodontist appointment. When I applied to be a reader for Measurement Inc., they said day shift was 8:30am-12pm and then 12:45pm-4:15pm with a 45 minute unpaid lunch. Well I converted the times from Eastern to Arizona. There was no way I was going to start at 5:30am so I requested afternoons only. Well it turns out the company converts the shifts into your time zone. Only they seem to think Arizona sprung ahead like the rest of the country, because my work schedule is 2:45pm-6:15 pm Eastern. If we sprung ahead it would be the same afternoon time, but for me it’s actually 11:45am-3:15pm. This works out well for me though, because I only have a half an hour of work to go once Gretchen comes home. Plus it gives me plenty of time to work on dinner. I like to know what I’m making by 3 o’clock. Depending on what we are having, I need to start prepping it then. It takes me at least double the time to prep food with only one good hand. Though it has been nice now that both girls have begun helping in the kitchen. Rachael is better and more cooperative, but we’re working on Gretchen’s reluctance.

Leave a Reply

