NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 14

release the kraken

Where is my Kraken?

Release the Kraken

Delete, delete, delete… staring at a blank screen
Two weeks into April without any inspiration
Words fall onto the page then quickly disappear
Into the void, hit delete, leave nothing to glean
Only fourteen days in – where is my aspiration
Letters deleted one by one leave no trace
Staring at blank screen, it becomes perfectly clear
Without caffeine, no aspiration, blank page wins race

NaPoWriMo PromptToday’s prompt comes to us from TJ Kearney, who invites us to try a seven-line poem called a san san, which means “three three” in Chinese (It’s also a term of art in the game Go). The san san has some things in common with the tritina, including repetition and rhyme. In particular, the san san repeats, three times, each of three terms or images. The seven lines rhyme in the pattern a-b-c-a-b-d-c-d.

The Kraken went into hiding this morning. My friend became the delete key even as I’m writing this, I’m deleting to reword it. Well the san san is a new form for me. I think I followed the structure, but if not I will try again. I love learning new forms. I just now poured my second cup of coffee. This was not totally written without caffeine. I want to thank, Benita Kape for tackling the form first – Small Flight & Finest. Now I’m off in search of other poets who have ventured into the deep.

5 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 14

Leave a Reply

