NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 3

Phoenix ComiCon

Jonathan Frakes Phoenix ComiCon

Fan Girl

Fan
girl
over
old actor
not seen in Teen Beat
no pullout poster hung on my
wall because he was not a Corey or Backstreet Boy
sixteenth birthday gift tickets to
Star Trek convention
Wil Wheaton
my first
crush…
Frakes

I am not calling Jonathan Frakes old, but he wasn’t a teen idol in the late ’80s early 90s. My twin sister and I talked our mom into buying four tickets to a Star Trek convention in Buffalo, NY because it was on our 16th birthday November 17th. Kati actually stood in line to meet Wil Wheaton. I was excited to be at my first convention, but bummed Frakes was not there.

In 1994, my wonderful fiance drove us up to Toronto for my second Star Trek convention. I was a working girl then and splurged to get VIP tickets to see both Jonathan Frakes and Marina Sirtis up close. Then life happened and I didn’t go to any kind of geek gathering until Twilight. Rachael was in middle school and Twilight was a big deal and there was a convention close by at the Wigwam. Of course I had to introduce my daughter to conventions. Well anyone who reads this blog knows it was all down hill from there. A few years later I saw Jonathan Frakes was attending the Phoenix ComiCon. Of course we got tickets. Back then 12 and under sidekicks were free. We only had to buy two tickets.

A couple years ago we attended again. Gretchen had to see John Barrowman. The lucky girl even met him and got his autograph. Then last year we attended Leprecon so I could fan girl over Star Trek authors. I already got tickets to Phoenix ComiCon this June. Rachael is working on her Attack on Titan cosplay. Yes, this fan girl has created a fan family.

NaPoWriMo Prompt – Yesterday, we wrote portraits of families. Today, let’s turn our vision outward, and write fan letters. I challenge you to write a poem in the form of a fan letter to a celebrity. Now, this could be a celebrity from long ago, and needn’t be an actor or singer (though it could be). You could write to George Washington or Dorothy Dandridge, Marie Curie or The Weeknd. Happy writing!

One thought on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 3

Leave a Reply

