NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 1

Torn apart
workspace upheaval
find my zen

Housewife writes
kitchen poetry
caffeine fueled

IMG_1735

Me working in my kitchen

Hello everyone! Welcome to my poetry blog thanks to napowrimo.net for featuring me on day one. As I’m sure you can tell by the t-shirt I’m wearing in the picture, I live in AZ and it’s not even 7AM here yet. My alarm goes off at 5AM on weekdays to get girls ready for school. Since it is April 1st, the first thing I did this morning was to check the napowrimo site for the prompt. Well it was too early and I definitely had no caffeine in me. I didn’t notice I was the feature poet until a friend congratulated me on Facebook. Thank you, Benita Kape. Please everyone check out her poetry, too.

The Prompt Day One – Today, I challenge you to write a lune. This is a sort of English-language haiku. While the haiku is a three-line poem with a 5-7-5 syllable count, the lune is a three-line poem with a 5-3-5 syllable count. There’s also a variant based on word-count, instead of syllable count, where the poem still has three lines, but the first line has five words, the second line has three words, and the third line has five words again. Either kind will do, and you can write a one-lune poem, or write a poem consisting of multiple stanzas of lunes. Happy writing!

Edit

workspace upheaval
find my zen
kitchen poetry

To follow syllable count, I decided to add parts of the lunes to make this one. Also I thought I’d share the link to Birthday Lunes. This girl will be 15! on Monday!

12 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Day 1

Leave a Reply

