Golden Pixie, poem by Veronica Hosking (MY MANE MEMORIES Poetry & Prose Series)

Enjoyed all the great mane memories in the Silver Birch Press series.

Silver Birch Press

hoskingGolden Pixie
by Veronica Hosking

Short
hair
Pixie
cut adorn
by single barrette
Young girl sits with tongue sticking out
stubborn as cowlick
golden locks
cannot
be
tamed

PHOTO: Taken about 1977 in Buffalo, New York.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: My mom once told me this was her favorite photo of me. It was taken at Buffalo Children’s Hospital when I began physical therapy there for my cerebral palsy. Years later my fiancé found it and put it in a photo collage he made for my high school graduation. Yes, I married my high school sweetheart. The goofy picture haunts me to this day, because the collage still hangs in my house. My husband and I will be celebrating our 20th anniversary this October.

hosking1ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Veronica Hosking is a wife, mother, and poet. She lives in the desert southwest with her husband and two daughters. Her family and day…

View original post 60 more words

Leave a Reply

