NaPoWriMo Day 18

Leary Trip

Bleary
Weary
Dreary
Sneery
Day eighteen of bleary, weary trip
My verse becomes dreary, sneery quip

Me, myself and I at Buffalo State (alma mater)

Me, myself and I at Buffalo State (alma mater)

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for our (as always, optional) prompt, which takes us from 2015 back to the 1700s. After all, it’s the eighteenth of April, which means that today is the 240th anniversary of the midnight ride of Paul Revere! Today, in keeping with the theme of rush and warning, I challenge you to write a poem that involves an urgent journey and an important message. It could historical, mythical, entirely fictional, or memoir-ical.

My journey (and it is by no means enhanced by anything more than beery) started at Buffalo State where I earned a BS in English Secondary Education in 1996. When I saw the poetry resource today – Our poetry resource for the day is The Electronic Poetry Center at the University of Buffalo, where you’ll find an extensive online library of resources devoted to electronic, digital, and formally innovative poetry. Including flarf! I knew I had to include a picture from Buffalo. Recently Shawn and I got together with fellow Buff State grads transplanted to the desert at a Coyotes/Sabres game. The first video lesson for the How Writers Write Poetry MOOC talked about bank registers as a type of journal. I noticed the other day I paid for the game with check # 1996, the year we both graduated from Buff State.

Sign for Alumni get together. Photo Credit: Nick Mahoney

Sign for Alumni get together. Photo Credit: Nick Mahoney

It popped out at me because of the MOOC. And may or may not be used in future poetry. Hope everyone enjoys the last 12 days of this poetry trip.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo Day 18

Leave a Reply

