NaPoWriMo Day 15

Frazzled

April
Fifteenth halfway
through month writing poems
Any tips for poets feeling
Frazzled?

Motivation Poster from poets.org

Motivation Poster from poets.org

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for our prompt (optional, as always). Today, I challenge you to write a poem that addresses itself or some aspect of its self (i.e. “Dear Poem,” or “what are my quatrains up to?”; “Couplet, come with me . . .”) This might seem a little meta at first, or even kind of cheesy. But it can be a great way of interrogating (or at least, asking polite questions) of your own writing process and the motivations you have for writing, and the motivations you ascribe to your readers.

Halfway through the month yes, I’m getting frazzled but it isn’t just because of poetry. Where to find the motivation to keep going? I went over to writer’s digest to see what the PAD challenge was today. I was excited to see today’s guest judge is Alberto Rios (Arizona’s poet laureate). The prompt there was to write an adjective poem. Well I know how I’m feeling at this halfway point between poetry, MOOC, school projects, and a full house – can we say worn out. I do have my national poetry month poster to keep me going. And maybe my state poet laureate will answer my poem with some good tips. 😉

Leave a Reply

