NaPoWriMo Day 14

Conversation Before Caffeine

What are you doing?
I don’t know.
I’m glad you don’t know.
You are
Where is the coffee?
If you don’t know 
how would I?

Beware! Sleep deprived
Mom without coffee.
Listen to her carry on
step by step instruction
to herself
Early and often…
conversing before caffeine.

My children know I'm crazy

My children know I’m crazy

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for our optional prompt! Today, I challenge you to write a poem that takes the form of a dialogue. Your conversant could be real people, or be personifications, as in Andrew Marvell’s A Dialogue Between the Soul and the Body, or Yeats’ A Dialogue of Self and Soul. Like Marvell, and Yeats, you could alternate stanzas between your two speakers, or perhaps you could give them alternating lines. Your speakers could be personifications, like those in Marvell and Yeats’ poems, or they could be two real people. Hopefully, this prompt will give you a chance to represent different points of view in the same poem, or possibly to create a dramatic sense of movement and tension within the poem.

We are almost half way done with April. One may think I’ve just begun to converse with myself. Not to worry this is a common occurrence often. When the girls have friends over, they are amused to hear me carry on in the kitchen cooking dinner. Yes, these conversations occur even after caffeine. My Little One got the stickers in the picture at a school book fair. She was particularly proud of the top one.

Of course to add to the insanity of April, I signed up for the How Writers Write Poetry 2015 MOOC which started yesterday. One of the assignments was to write a quatrain. I used my riddle poem since it had four lines. They also reused Robert Hass’s talk from the first course over the summer on sketching poetry. He talked about question/answer. I used this with the #haikuchallenge word on twitter (glance) to come up with a haiku.

Acrostic riddle
Will answer pop with a glance
Left letters bolded

The problem with this second MOOC though is they are using a different website. For me and many of the other students, trying to navigate the forum to post assignments is complicated. And personally I have my mother-in-law here. She is moving here but having complications of her own with closing on a house. In the meantime it puts her in my house, and I have to be sociable can’t keep myself locked away writing and reading poetry all day.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 14

Leave a Reply

