NaPoWriMo Day 11

On the Couch

Day eleven poetry brain has claimed tongue
Yesterday I spoke of defrawing ham hock
When we went to pick up split peas how I strung
Thaw and defrost has

Baffled daughter, waiting to see the daft talk
Couched together later today; my girls laugh
Mom has lost her sanity – day eleven
Rhyme and reason spent

On the couch at Grandpa's house

On the couch at Grandpa’s house

NaPoWriMo Prompt – Our (optional) prompt for today departs from such concerns, however. Today, rather than being casual, I challenge you to get rather classically formal, and compose a poem in Sapphics. These are quatrains whose first three lines have eleven syllables, and the fourth, just five. There is also a very strict meter that alternates trochees (a two-syllable foot, with the first syllable stressed, and the second unstressed) and dactyls (a three-syllable foot, with the first syllable stressed and the remainder unstressed). The first three lines consist of two trochees, a dactyl, and two more trochees. The fourth line is a dactyl, followed by a trochee.

I chickened out of yesterday’s prompt and only gave an ABC abecedarian though I was having fun exploring the unusual words starting with c webpage. I also think the blogging gods were conspiring against me. Despite the fact I wrote a concise haiku, my computer kept whirling the little color wheel and it took forever to upload that small contribution.

Last night the split peas were set to soaking and I was up bright and early this morning. Hubby isn’t here off in El Paso to help his mom move. I don’t sleep well in an empty bed. But I got my poem done already and a load of laundry in the washer. And yes, I cleaned my computer and it is working much faster this morning.

Leave a Reply

