NaPoWriMo Day 5

I felt a Funeral, in my Brain, (340)

BY EMILY DICKINSON
I felt a Funeral in my Brain And Mourners to and fro
Kept treading treading till it seemed that Sense was breaking through and when they all were seated a Service like a Drum
kept beating beating till I thought my mind was going numb
And then I heard them lift a Box and creak across my Soul
with those same Boots of Lead again then Space began to toll
As all the Heavens were a Bell and Being but an Ear and I and Silence some strange Race Wrecked solitary here and then a Plank in Reason broke and I dropped down and down and hit a World at every plunge and Finished knowing then

Mourners to and fro
felt a funeral in my
brain. Sense was breaking
my mind was going numb in
Reason – Finished knowing then

8th Grade yearbook photo

8th Grade yearbook photo

NaPoWriMo Prompt – Today’s exercise asks you to do something similar, but in the interests of creativity, rather than ill-conceived “correction.” Find an Emily Dickinson poem – preferably one you’ve never previously read – and take out all the dashes and line breaks. Make it just one big block of prose. Now, rebreak the lines. Add words where you want. Take out some words. Make your own poem out of it! (Not sure where to find some Dickinson poems? Here’s 59 Dickinson poems to select from)

I learned through Facebook one of my grammar school friends passed away yesterday after a valiant battle with brain cancer. I went to a small parochial school. My eighth grade graduating class had eight students, making us all very close. After 8th grade, I did not keep in touch with Liz. We went on to different high schools, but years later we did connect on Facebook. Though a comment here and a like there cannot compare to the old connection from school. Around 7th or 8th grade, my sister, Katryn, and I had a sleepover for our birthday. The other four girls from the class all came and we watched Stand By Me to quote Stephen King –

“I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anybody?”

RIP Liz

I felt a Funeral, in my Brain, (340)

BY EMILY DICKINSON

I felt a Funeral, in my Brain,
And Mourners to and fro
Kept treading – treading – till it seemed
That Sense was breaking through –

And when they all were seated,
A Service, like a Drum –
Kept beating – beating – till I thought
My mind was going numb –

And then I heard them lift a Box
And creak across my Soul
With those same Boots of Lead, again,
Then Space – began to toll,

As all the Heavens were a Bell,
And Being, but an Ear,
And I, and Silence, some strange Race,
Wrecked, solitary, here –

And then a Plank in Reason, broke,
And I dropped down, and down –
And hit a World, at every plunge,
And Finished knowing – then –

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 5

Leave a Reply

