NaPoWriMo Day 1

Hello dear readers, welcome to day one of NaPoWriMo. I’m starting with something small a haiku.

held out fifteen years
brand new washer and dryer
high efficiency

NaPoWriMo.net prompt – And now, without further ado, our optional prompt. Today’s prompt is a poem of negation – yes (or maybe, no), I challenge you to write a poem that involves describing something in terms of what it is not, or not like. For example, if you chose a whale as the topic of your poem, you might have lines like “It does not settle down in trees at night, cooing/Nor will it fit in your hand.” Happy writing!

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I was pretty quiet in March. The girls had spring break two different weeks! My in-laws were in town visiting. Rachael went to the science Olympiad and Gretchen had to complete her science project. And during all this my dryer died on me! It was taking 3 to 4 cycles to dry a load. I knew it wouldn’t be long. About seven years ago, the belt on the washer went. We hemmed and hawed about buying new. But the high efficiency washers were just coming out. They were side loaders. I hate reaching down to load my dryer, having to do it twice? Wasn’t going to happen. I heard the salesperson gave Shawn an earful on how his wife will love him if he brought one home. He knew me better.

We had the old washer repaired and it still runs very well. And I was happy just looking at dryers. But Shawn said we should have a nice set. Both the washer and dryer are 15 years old now, too. Over the weekend we bought a new washer (top loading) and dryer and they were installed yesterday. I was looking over the instruction manual and kept seeing, HE detergent. I thought it was a typo for the. Until half way down the page HE was explained as high efficiency detergent not what I have on hand. See why I’ve held out buying new appliances. But on the plus side, my new washer has a glass lid. We can watch the fun of clothes spinning and sudsing. 😉 And check out the light in my dryer.

New washer and dryer

New washer and dryer

Well I have housework to catch up on which is why my day one poem is short. I may be back with another offering if I get my work done quickly. Welcome to April.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 1

  1. An excellent place to start Veronica! We replaced our washing machine fairly recently too. They last a long time but in the end you have to bite the bullet if you want your washing done properly (but I appreciate they can be costly too, hence why we also waited until ours broke). Excited and look forward to reading more of your work this month.

    • Actually the salesperson was amazed our first set gave us 15 years. She said they are not designed to last that long. Another reason I thought of planned obsolescence. I have a second load of wash in today. The agitating is not as loud. Proves I’m already getting used to the change.

Leave a Reply

