Fond Farewell – to Mom

I’ve been absent this past week.  My mom passed away on August 27th and I flew home to say goodbye.  My husband wrote a loving tribute poem to her, but my words have not been put to paper yet. I was hit by the haiku challenge word today, leave. Especially since @wordcra7y’s was the first one I read:

up that airplane ramp
and into the waiting arms
you don’t want to leave
                                 
by: Persephone

I went up the ramp yesterday, leaving those arms far behind.

Taxi down runway
Leave Buffalo behind me
Fond farewell to Mom

Mom in 1967 when my dad was in Vietnam. Six years before I was born.

Mom in 1967 when my dad was in Vietnam. Six years before I was born.

One thought on “Fond Farewell – to Mom

Leave a Reply

