Building a Poem – Assignment Three

Time and Tide

Feet in the sand
Keep me anchored to who I am
Feet in the sand
My world flipped upside down unplanned
Reality rolled out to slam
Me against what was: my heart swam
Feet in the sand

Feet in the sand
Timid to cross liminal space
Feet in the sand
Dig deep, steadfast I understand
Change an inevitable chase
Tide waits for no one to embrace
Feet in the sand

The third video presentation in How Writers Write Poetry – Building a Poem. Daniel Khalastchi talked about image, metaphor, rhyme and lines to build your poem. He also, briefly, mentioned form. I began with a rondelet so my structure was pretty set. Though Khalastchi did talk about breaking form as Srikanth Reddy did in “Sonnet”. And I may do this in another workshop depending on the feedback I get from this assignment.

Leave a Reply

