NaPoWriMo Day Twenty-Nine – Blitz Poem

Dog Has Rule

Sick as I am
Sick as a dog
Dog off its leash
Dog eat dog world
World in turmoil
World wide web
Web does entangle
Web of lies
Lies star-crossed lovers
Lies of omission
Omission of forethought
Omission leaves out
Out of time
Out in the cold
Cold shoulder
Cold as Hell
Hell freezes over
Hell on Earth
Earth turns to dust
Earth is our home
Home away from home
Home is where the heart is
Is it time to weep
Is this working out
Out damn spot out
Out of my mind
Mind thinks logically
Mind over body
Body is grotesque
Body of evidence
Evidence must compel
Evidence yields proof
Proof of betrayal
Proof of life
Life is complicated
Life worth living
Living in my own little world
Living in a glass house
House built on a cliff
House of cards
Cards stacked in a deck
Cards playing solitaire
Solitaire is a lonely affair
Solitaire turns into a crowd
Crowd packed in like sardines
Crowd follows mob rule
Rule with an iron fist
Rule of thumb
Thumb…
Fist…

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now our prompt (optional, as always). This may remind you a bit of the “New York School” recipe, but this prompt has been around for a long time. I remember using it in a college poetry class, and loving the result. It really forces you into details, and to work on “conducting” the poem as it grows, instead of trying to force the poem to be one thing or another in particular. The prompt is called the “Twenty Little Poetry Projects,” and was originally developed by Jim Simmerman.

Yes, I am missing a day.  I tried writing a poem on a news story, but I couldn’t find one that inspired me.  I will try to catch up and write one later.  This is a Blitz Poem.  I’ve been wanting to write one for awhile.  The “Twenty Little Poetry Projects” made me think stream of consciousness and so I thought a blitz poem would be a fun substitute.

 

Leave a Reply

