NaPoWriMo Day Nineteen – Happy Birthday, DAD!

Fishing

Calm
Still waters
Memories flood in
Rowing out under dawn’s pink
Sky

Dad
Hunkered down in the canoe
Fishing pole in hand
Patiently
Lures

Image

 

My Dad and Me

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for today’s (optional) prmpt. This is a bit silly, but it’s Saturday. I recently got a large illustrated guide to sea shells. There are some pretty wild names for sea shells. Today I challenge you to take a look at the list of actual sea shell names below, and to use one or more of them to write a poem. You poem doesn’t have to be about sea shells at all — just inspired by one or more of the names.

Today is my Dad’s birthday!  If you are following this blog, you can figure out how old he is.  I’m not telling.  When the napowrimo prompt said seashells, I was wondering how I could write a birthday poem.  Reading the list of names, I saw one with canoe and remembered fishing with my dad.  When we would go camping, he would wake me up early in the morning to head out and fish.  Most times he would cast his line out and I would just drop my line straight down the boat’s side.  When I would catch more fish than he did, he always said, I’m luring them over to the boat for you to catch. 😉

Happy Birthday, DAD!

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day Nineteen – Happy Birthday, DAD!

Leave a Reply

