NaPoWriMo Day Eighteen – Ruba’i

Every morning I wake to greet
The sunshine and love my retreat
Back east they’re still dealing with snow
My desert spring lush in dry heat

Image

 

Picture taken by Shawn Hosking on Camelback Mountain

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for our prompt (optional, as always). Today I challenge you to write a ruba’i. What’s that? Well, it’s a Persian form — multipe stanzas in the ruba’i form are a rubaiyat, as in The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. Basically, a ruba’i is a four-line stanza, with a rhyme scheme of AABA. Robert Frost’s famous poem Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening uses this rhyme scheme. You can write a poem composed of one ruba’i, or try your hand at more, for a rubaiyat. Happy writing!

Yesterday, I was busy writing tweetkus.  Tweets written as haiku. I heard Western New York had gotten more snow. I thought I better threaten the sun to get with the program.  I don’t want to deal with snow when I visit Buffalo in July. 😉

I’m no fan of snow
Summer better warm July
Sun has been forewarned

 

Then today I check the writer’s digest PAD prompt more weather poetry.  I decided to write a ruba’i on my beautiful Sonoran Spring. And now I have miles to go before I sleep… I need to get ready for the weekend.

 

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day Eighteen – Ruba’i

  1. Hi Veronica, we just got back from Tucson so I can appreciate this. It was lovely to be in the sun, though we found it a harsh burning eye at first. Mt Lemmon with its pine forest was a surprise and a delight. We did a loop hike in Catalina State Park. Loved the Poetry Center at U of A. And it’s nice to come home to a gentle spring in the PNW.

    • My husband asked me to make a windshield replacement appointment for the car. I don’t drive. When they asked if it was tinted glass, I said yes. I thought all the car windows were tinted. The sun is harsh. But I found out hubby was excited about a free glass upgrade. The original windshield was not tinted.

Leave a Reply

