NaPoWriMo Day Two – Tanka

Susanoo

Sprouted from his father’s nose

Shinto god of sea

Summer storms rage: Darken sky
Sibling rivalry paled Sun

 

NaPoWriMo Prompt – And now for our optional prompt. There are many good poems based on myths. Lots of these use Greek or Roman myths. Consider Tennyson’s Ulysees or this more modern example by A.E. Stallings. But today I challenge you to write a poem based on a non-Greco-Roman myth. You could write a poem inspired by Norse mythology, or perhaps by one of these creatures from Japanese legend. Every time and place and culture has its myths and legends, so there’s plenty to choose from. Happy writing!

 

Thanks to everyone who viewed my first poem of NaPoWriMo14.  I had over 170 views yesterday.  After reading today’s prompt, I was on Facebook and saw one of those silly ecards: Why are so many people eaten by sharks? Don’t they hear the music? Yes, the soundtrack to Jaws still gives me the chills.  I thought it would be cool if Japan had a shark god to write about.  No luck, but the Shinto god of the sea proved to be interesting.  I used wikipedia to learn about him.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day Two – Tanka

    • That looks interesting. You’ve whet my appetite to go look him up. Yes I like it. Each line makes me think and a subject not easily portrayed in the short form.

Leave a Reply

